The Eating Art

A food guide for allergy sufferers

Don’t take away my coffee

I don’t think I’ve yet mentioned my love for coffee. That caffeine hit from the first cup of morning coffee is what gets me out of bed each day. Coffee, the common man’s gold, provides a wealth of happiness in its delicious liquid form and it’s even better topped with hot frothy milk.

But I’m going to have to give up the dairy and learn to enjoy coffee a new way – with almond milk.

I have to admit, I didn’t start drinking coffee until I moved to Vancouver, Canada, just five years ago. I’m still not sure if it was the crisp, cold weather that enticed the Canucks to fill up on their brew or if it was simply the cheap and easy kick from the drug that I’ve now grown to love.

While living in “Van”, I worked for the CFO of a mining company. I recall coming into work on the Friday of my first week and Mike had left a Starbucks coffee voucher on my desk with a note saying, “great job this week, go treat yourself. And the snow’s great on the mountain today, so get out of here early”. Ah bless the Canadians and their love for coffee and the outdoors. That $50 coffee voucher was what spurred me to take the plunge and within two short weeks I was addicted. Well and truly.

Now, let me just finish that little story by saying I now appreciate a fine brew, not the dirty dishwater that I now regard as Starbucks (sorry to my readers, I know Starbucks is the most popular place to go in the US..!). I have become a coffee snob and expect a strong bean to be ground and prepared by a skilled and experienced barista. Coffee princess? Perhaps. So how will I deal with almond milk in my coffee. Almond milk? That just doesn’t sound right.

Let’s be honest. Without coffee first thing in the morning, I can be cranky. Perhaps not outwardly but I swear I have that, “don’t even think about talking to me look on my face.” So with this in mind, I’m a little anxious about changing my coffee habit.

But guess what? Again, the almond milk doesn’t have a strong taste and it adds just a slightly nutty flavour to my coffee which I really enjoy. It takes the bitter edge off the coffee yet doesn’t change the flavour a great deal.

Who said paleo was boring? Oh yeah, that’s right, it was me…

20130729-143917.jpg

Almond milk from Whole Foods – my new coffee staple
em>

10 comments on “Don’t take away my coffee

  1. neuropickings
    July 29, 2013

    I’m epileptic and the advice is to stay away from coffee as it triggers seizures…but I can’t, I love the stuff too, but it seems to be ok with me at the moment. Almond milk is awesome, I buy it now and again. Have you tried Coconut milk with coffee?

    • meggsy
      July 29, 2013

      Oh no, sorry to hear that – even decaf? It’s hard trying work out what is ok and what isn’t at the moment for me. I haven’t tried coconut milk yet, but I do have some stashed in the cupboard. Might be something to try tomorrow! – thank you for the tip.

  2. cavegirlcreations
    July 29, 2013

    I recently started the Whole 30 and am on Day 17 and haven’t had coffee in about a week and a half. The almond milk just didn’t cut it for me. So now, I drink tea like it’s going out of style. I’m shocked that I didn’t get a headache from coffee withdrawal!

    • meggsy
      July 30, 2013

      Well done you! I tend to get a headache just one day without coffee. I can’t bring myself to do tea just yet – any recommendations on good flavours that will help me ease into it?!

      • cavegirlcreations
        July 30, 2013

        I know I feel like coffee is such a staple in everyone’s morning routine, it was a little hard the first could of days. I like the green tea and the vanilla tea’s the best. I typically sprinkle a little cinnamon on it and add some all natural honey; it really makes a world of difference with the honey.

      • meggsy
        July 30, 2013

        Cinnamon and honey – perfect Cavegirl!! Thank you for the hint!

      • cavegirlcreations
        July 30, 2013

        No problem, it makes a world of difference instead of drinking it plain. (=

  3. thesensitivefoodie
    July 30, 2013

    I’m with you on the coffee front, I was having soy, but found out I’m reacting to that too. I am working my way through all types of milk trying to get a good caffeine hit. My latest one is coconut milk, it’s ok, still not awesome. I love the bottle your almond milk comes in!

    • meggsy
      July 30, 2013

      I am a bit of a sucker when it comes to packaging, so I fell for that almond bottle as soon as I saw it! I’m going to give coconut milk a shot in my coffee this week. It might be a little sweeter than the almond milk which is a plus. I used to be really naughty and sometimes add condensed milk to my coffee – something I picked up in Vietnam, so perhaps coconut milk might give me an extra little boost! It’s all trial and error with these damn allergies!

  4. thesensitivefoodie
    July 31, 2013

    I loved the iced tea with condensed milk in Vietnam, I think I drank so much while I was there it was giving me the shakes 🙂

Leave a comment

Information

This entry was posted on July 29, 2013 by in Food, Lifestyle, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , .